A merchants story

"Wagen und Winnen", which can be translated into "Risk and Win" is the basic philosophy of an overseas merchant. Dr. Hellmut Kruse, who has actively managed the Wiechers & Helm group for over 50 years, describes his life as a 20th Century Hanseatic trader in his auto-biography of the same name.

 

Below you will find an extract taken from the sixth chapter of Dr. Kruse's book covering the early 1950's:

After the reform of the currency in June 1948, everything had changed in Western Germany. There was a general feeling of a new beginning, which paved the way for the so-called “Wirtschaftswunder” of the next decade. Also, Wiechers & Helm began again to receive export orders from abroad. My father was, therefore, of the opinion that it would be best if I came straight to the office, in view that there was a lot of work to be done. The dream of the literary activity as an editor had no further chance. After a few days of saying farewell to the earlier ideas, my future life as a foreign trade merchant started on the 2nd of January 1949.

The company Wiechers & Helm was founded in 1892. Of the two partners, Paul Helm was the elder brother of Karl O. Helm. His firm started in 1900 and was later developed by Hermann Schnabel after 1950 to great importance in the worldwide trade of chemicals under the name of Helm AG. Henry Wiechers was responsible for providing the enterprise with the necessary capital. He remained a partner until his death in 1925. Paul Helm had already died in 1908 and his place was taken over by Alfred Kaiser. My father had reported to Alfred Kaiser when he was sent to Karachi, where the company had a subsidiary under the name of Wiechers, Kaiser & Levy. The third partner, Max Levy, was an important part of the business until 1939. All sales contracts were completed by mail or telegraphically, and he provided the only personal contact with the numerous agents and direct customers throughout India.

On my first trip to Asia the prime destination was Karachi. The flight was with an SAS Super Constellation which took 18 hours, with stopovers in Rome and Lydda, the airport of the new state of Israel. The name of the Beach Luxury Hotel in Karachi sounded pretentious. In reality I had to share my room with a loudly snoring Indian. The misery of the refugees in Pakistan, which had only become independent three years earlier, was indescribable. The number of inhabitants of Karachi had tripled in this time.

In order to get to know the country and the people, I spent the first weekend joining a family excursion with one of our representatives to Hyderahbad. They wanted to visit a cotton ginning factory of friends up-country. The 8 hour trip was by a night train, in freight cars which were modified for the transportation of people by the installation of a wooden bench. There was no idea of getting some sleep, because coloured sweeties were offered all the time. The factory was interesting; however, the meals were troublesome and indigestible. The men, who were sitting on the ground, using their fingers and without knife, fork or spoon, were eating rice and spices from a large tray with bits of meat, which were blackened on the outside from the open fire, but raw on the inside. The women were standing around and watched eagerly at how I managed to eat this kind of food. During the ride back, one of the railcars went off the rails on a bridge. I was happy to finally return to my Indian in the hotel. For the next days it was impossible to think of eating anything again.

As to our business, the customers were rushing for my samples. They needed, however, individual Import-licences, which were available only on a limited scale. For instance, Ahmed Brothers could import 3000 embroidered woollen shawls. Before the war, this was a well known article in the size of 96 x 48 inches, and was ideal for the cool nights in the north of the country. The light woollen fabric was woven in Helmbrechts in Bavaria and subsequently embroidered with coloured floral designs in the Russian occupied part of Germany, within the bizonal agreements. The price was 60 shillings per piece. At first the customer offered 50 shillings. After three exchanges of telegrams with Hamburg and complicated negotiations with our suppliers partly across the iron curtain we finally came to terms at 57 shillings and 6 pence. When the contract was signed in the evening, Mr. Ahmed disclosed, that he could sell these long awaited shawls at 200 shillings. This experience has become for me a key event for the trading mentality of the Asiatic customers.

The next stay was Bombay. There I got a room in the traditional Taj Mahal Hotel close to the port. At this point, one could feel how attractive it must have been in earlier days to arrive in India. Now the consequences of the partition of the former British India were also visible here. With me was a list of names, representing more than 100 companies with whom we had worked before the war. There were both agents and direct customers, Hindus, Parsees and also Mohammedans, who were not expelled. My idea was to see everyone at the available address, in order to determine the actual business prospects, after such a long time. However, that was easier said than done. In many streets the houses had no numbers. The vast markets were dominated by a confusing pell-mell. The distances were enormous, and taxis were hardly available outside of the hotel.

When it became known that I was staying at the Taj Mahal, a kind of siege started. Many customers wanted to see my samples first. In the morning I often had one party up in my room, whilst two others waited down in the lobby. I have a fond memory of the invitation of a well-to-do Parsee to a restaurant at the upper part of the extended Bombay-Bay, with the legendary 5 Towers of Silence behind us, the burial place of this religion going back to Zarathustra. At night I usually returned late to the hotel. Then I had still to cable the most important news, to reorganize my samples and pricelists, and to finish my daily report on my small type-writer. Naturally, I also sent a detailed sign of life to Clarita.

The three weeks in Bombay was followed by five days in Delhi. The flight up there in a 2 engine DC 3 was very bumpy. The air sickness bags offered by Air India could hardly meet my demand. I stayed at the Maiden’s Hotel in Old Delhi, with its famous fortress made out of red square stones, and different mosques from its times as the center of the mogul reign. The customers I was looking for had their offices or shops nearby. Naturally I also went to New Delhi to get my entry visas to Burma, Thailand and Singapore. Additionally, I wanted to visit these countries, because I realized already in Bombay, that our chances in India remained limited, on account of the total unavailability of import licences for any kind of textiles.

This impression was confirmed during the next two weeks in Calcutta. I showed my list of 60 textile customers to the manager of the Chartered Bank; he considered about 55 of them as still being first class companies, yet without an import license none of them could import even one yard of cloth. It was a disgrace. Consequently we were limited in India to the toilsome and competitive range of sundries, tools and household articles, in which a privileged position could be reached only under special circumstances. All the more, the sight of Calcutta was depressing, quite different from Bombay, and seemed more comparable with Karachi. Often there were cows in the streets, even in front of my Great Eastern Hotel. Wherever one looked, the poverty was oppressive. Therefore it was with no sadness that on the evening of 23rd December, I drove to the Dum Dum Airport, to catch the plane to Rangoon, which should depart at about midnight.

My cousin Herbert Tiefenbacher worked in Rangoon for a few months with the influential firm Steel Brothers. I wished to spend the Christmas holidays with him, though at the Calcutta Airport I had still to while away the night before Christmas-Eve, because my plane did not arrive before 6 o’clock in the morning. But about midday I arrived in Rangoon and found a comfortable accommodation in the Strand Hotel. Since the rooms were decorated with balloons instead of fir branches, they could not create a seasonal atmosphere like at home. But we saw “Gone with the Wind” in the cinema and were content to be together. As to our business, there was little to be done in Burma like in India. The political circumstances of the country remained unstable for decades.

After the worldwide success of the e-mail and the mobile telephone it is hardly believable that my connection with my home existed during the whole journey of four months only by letters and in urgent cases by cables. The letter ones had to be handed personally to the post-offices in Pakistan and India after long waiting times. I sent to Clarita 75 fully typed pages and twice as many to the firm. There was not yet a dictaphone or a fax. It also took a long time before the letters arrived. But this did no harm the intensity of the emotional connection. Consequently the happiness was great when I returned early in March to Hamburg.

The “Hamburger Abendblatt” reported on 12.03.1951: “Of the misery of the refugees in Karachi, after millions of Hindus and Mohammedans were driven away vice-versa in consequence of the partition of British India, of Bombay, where the food is insufficient even in the most beautiful hotel, of the destroyed Rangoon, which is still separated from its up-country land by rebels, of Bangkok, where still a great number of Germans live, of the order and wealth in Singapore and of many other impressions reported Dr. H. Kruse very intuitively, who returned only a few days ago from a journey through South East Asia as youngest member ob the Eastasiatic Association.” Before the war such speeches were customary at their annual dinner. After the war such a report remained unique, because journeys multiplied rapidly.

"Risk and Win" the book written by our Senior Partner is available in German language only.

 

You can download chapters 6 and 7 from the German version of this page. (178 KB)

 

 

ISBN: 3-434-52618-8

Ein Kaufmannsleben

"Wagen und Winnen" ist der Leitspruch des kaufmännischen Berufsstandes. Dr. Hellmut Kruse, über 50 Jahre bestimmend in der Leitung der Wiechers & Helm Unternehmensgruppe tätig, erzählt mit seiner Biographie ein "hanseatisches Kaufmannsleben im 20 Jahrhundert".

 

Nachfolgend erhalten Sie einen Ausschnitt aus dem sechsten Kapitel als Leseprobe des Buchs „Wagen und Winnen“ von Dr. Hellmut Kruse:

In Deutschland hatte sich nach der Währungsreform vom Juni 1948 alles verändert. Es bestand eine allgemeine Aufbruchstimmung, die zum Wirtschaftswunder der 50er-Jahre führen sollte. Auch bei Wiechers & Helm hatte das Exportgeschäft wieder eingesetzt. Daher meinte mein Vater, es sei so viel zu tun, ich käme am besten gleich in die Firma. Der Traum vom literarischen Beruf des Verlegers war damit ausgeträumt. Nach wenigen Tagen des Abschiednehmens von bisherigen Vorstellungen begann am 2. Januar 1949 mein zukünftiges Leben als Außenhandelskaufmann.

Die Firma Wiechers & Helm wurde 1892 gegründet. Von den beiden Namensgebern war Paul Helm ein älterer Bruder von Karl O. Helm, dessen 1900 begonnene Firma nach 1950 durch Hermann Schnabel als Helm AG zu großer Bedeutung im weltweiten Chemie-Handel entwickelt wurde. Henry Wiechers war in erster Linie der Kapitalgeber des Unternehmens. Er blieb Partner bis zu seinem Tod 1925. Paul Helm starb bereits 1908. An seine Stelle trat Alfred Kaiser als die eigentliche Bezugsperson für meinen Vater, als er nach Karachi ausreiste. Die dortige Tochtergesellschaft hieß Wiechers, Kaiser & Levy Ltd. Der dritte Partner Max Levy hatte eine große Bedeutung für das Geschäft bis 1939. Da alle Aufträge auf dem Postweg oder telegrafisch abgeschlossen wurden, stellte er den einzigen persönlichen Kontakt zu den zahlreichen Vertretern und Direktkunden in ganz Indien her. (...)

Auf meiner ersten Asien-Reise ging es für mich zunächst nach Karachi. Der Flug mit einer Superconstellation der SAS dauerte 18 Stunden mit Zwischenlandungen in Rom und Lydda, dem Flughafen des neuen Staates Israel. Der Name des Beach Luxury Hotels in Karachi klang anspruchsvoll. In Wirklichkeit musste ich mein Zimmer mit einem laut schnarchenden Inder teilen. Das Flüchtlingselend in dem erst vor drei Jahren gegründeten Pakistan war unbeschreiblich. Die Einwohnerzahl von Karachi hatte sich verdreifacht.

Um Land und Leute kennen zu lernen, beteiligte ich mich gleich am ersten Wochenende an einem Familienausflug eines unserer Vertreter nach Hyderahbad zur Besichtigung einer Fabrik, in der Baumwolle aus den Fruchtkapseln der Pflanzen gewonnen wurde. Die nächtliche Eisenbahnfahrt dauerte 8 Stunden in Waggons, die durch eine umlaufende Bank nur notdürftig für den Personentransport hergerichtet waren. Da ständig irgendwelche Süßigkeiten angeboten wurden, war an Schlaf nicht zu denken. Die Fabrik war interessant, aber die Mahlzeiten beschwerlich und unbekömmlich. Auf dem Boden sitzend aßen die Männer ohne Bestecke mit den Fingern von einem großen Tablett Reis und Gewürze zu großen Stücken Fleisch, das an offenem Feuer außen geschwärzt, aber innen roh geblieben war. Die Frauen beobachteten während dessen um uns herum stehend, wie ich damit fertig wurde. Auf dem Rückweg sprang auf einer Brücke auch noch ein Wagen aus den Schienen. So war ich froh, wieder zu meinem Inder ins Hotel zurückzukehren. Für die nächsten Tage war an eine weitere Nahrungsaufnahme nicht zu denken.

Geschäftlich stürzten sich die Kunden förmlich auf meine Muster. Sie benötigten jedoch jeweils Einfuhrlizenzen, die nur begrenzt erhältlich waren. Als Beispiel konnten Ahmed Brothers 3.000 bestickte Wollschals importieren. Das war schon vor dem Krieg ein beliebter etwa 2,40 x 1,20 Meter großer Artikel für die kühlen Abende im Norden des Landes. Der leichte Wollstoff wurde in Helmbrechts in Bayern gewebt und anschließend in mühsamem Veredelungsverkehr im sowjetisch besetzten Sachsen farbig mit Blumenmustern bestickt. Der Preis war 60 Schilling pro Stück. Zuerst bot der Kunde 50 Schilling. Nach dreifachem Telegrammwechsel mit Hamburg und schwierigen Verhandlungen von dort mit unseren Fabrikanten teilweise über die Zonengrenze hinweg einigten wir uns schließlich auf 57 Schilling und 6 Pence. Als der Vertrag am Abend unterschrieben war, gestand Mr. Ahmed, diese lang entbehrten Schals zu 200 Schilling weiter verkaufen zu können. Diese Erfahrung wurde für mich zu einem Schlüsselerlebnis für die Händlermentalität der asiatischen Kundschaft.

Die nächste Station war Bombay. Dort bekam ich ein Zimmer im traditionsreichen Taj Mahal Hotel direkt am Hafen. Es ließ sich erahnen, wie reizvoll früher die Ankunft in Indien gewesen sein muss. Jetzt waren auch hier die Auswirkungen der Teilung des früheren Britisch Indien zu spüren. Ich hatte eine Liste mit mehr als 100 Namen von Firmen, mit denen wir vor dem Krieg in verschiedenen Produktgruppen zusammengearbeitet hatten. Das waren Vertreter und Direktkunden, Hindus, Parsis und auch noch Mohammedaner, die nicht vertrieben waren. Ich hatte mir vorgenommen, jeden an der mir vorliegenden Adresse aufzusuchen, um mir ein Bild von ihren Geschäftsmöglichkeiten nach so langer Zeit zu machen. Das war aber leichter gedacht als getan. Viele Straßen hatten keine Hausnummern. In den großen Märkten herrschte ein heilloses Durcheinander. Die Entfernungen waren groß, Taxis außerhalb des Hotels schwer zu bekommen.

Als sich herumsprach, dass ich im Taj Mahal wohnte, setzte eine kleine Belagerung ein. Viele Kunden wollten meine Muster als Erste sehen. Oft hatte ich schon morgens eine Partei oben in meinem Zimmer, zwei andere warteten unten in der Halle. Abends kam ich meist spät ins Hotel zurück. Dann musste ich noch das Wichtigste telegrafieren, Muster sowie Preislisten wieder in Ordnung bringen, den Tagesbericht auf meiner kleinen Tippa Schreibmaschine festhalten und natürlich Clarita ein ausführliches Lebenszeichen schicken. In guter Erinnerung habe ich die Einladung eines wohlhabenden Parsi in ein Restaurant oberhalb der weitläufigen Bombay-Bucht, mit den legendären 5 Türmen des Schweigens im Hintergrund, der Beerdigungsstätte dieser auf Zarathustra zurückgehenden Religion. In der kühleren Abendluft war das eine märchenhafte Stimmung.

Auf drei Wochen in Bombay folgten 5 Tage in Delhi. Der Flug dorthin mit einer zweimotorigen DC 3 war sehr schaukelig. Die von der Air India angebotenen Tüten konnten meinen Bedarf kaum decken. Ich wohnte im Maidens Hotel in Old Delhi mit seinem berühmten Fort aus roten Quadersteinen und verschiedenen Moscheen aus der Zeit als Zentrum des Mogulreiches. Dort hatten auch die von mir gesuchten Kunden ihren Sitz. Natürlich kam ich auch nach New Delhi, um mir Einreisevisa für Burma, Thailand und Singapore zu beschaffen. Diese Länder wollte ich zusätzlich besuchen, weil sich schon in Bombay zeigte, dass unsere Aussichten in Indien begrenzt blieben, wegen des völligen Fehlens von Einfuhrlizenzen für Textilien jeglicher Art.

In den nächsten zwei Wochen in Calcutta bestätigte sich dieser Eindruck. Ich zeigte dem Manager der Chartered Bank meine Liste von 60 Textilkunden, von denen er etwa 55 weiter als erstklassig bezeichnete. Aber keiner konnte auch nur 1 Yard importieren. Es war ein Jammer. Es blieb uns in Indien nur das mühsame und hart umkämpfte Gebiet von Eisenwaren, Werkzeugen und Haushaltsartikeln, bei denen nur in Sonderfällen eine bevorzugte Stellung zu erreichen war. Der Eindruck von Calcutta war darüber hinaus deprimierend, ganz anders als Bombay und eher Karachi vergleichbar. Selbst vor meinem Great Eastern Hotel lagen zahlreiche Kühe auf der Straße, denen ich ihre Heiligkeit jedenfalls nicht ansehen konnte. Wohin man sah, war die Armut bedrückend. Nicht ungern begab ich mich daher am Abend des 23. Dezember zum DumDum Airport, um gegen Mitternacht nach Rangun weiterzufliegen.

Dort war mein Vetter Herbert Tiefenbacher für ein paar Monate bei der in Burma einflussreichen Firma Steel Brothers tätig. Die Weihnachtstage wollte ich mit ihm verbringen. Die Nacht zum Heiligen Abend musste ich mir noch am Flughafen von Calcutta um die Ohren schlagen, da sich meine Maschine bis um 6 Uhr in der Frühe verspätete. Aber gegen Mittag kam ich in Rangun an und fand im Strand Hotel eine sehr gepflegte Bleibe. Eine weihnachtliche Stimmung im heimatlichen Sinne konnte in dem mit Luftballons statt Tannenzweigen geschmückten Hotel natürlich nicht aufkommen. Aber wir sahen „Vom Winde verweht“ im Kino und waren zufrieden, zusammen zu sein. Geschäftlich war in Burma nur wenig zu machen wie in Indien. Die politischen Verhältnisse blieben für Jahrzehnte unsicher.

Es ist nach dem weltweiten Siegeszug der E-Mail und des mobilen Telefons kaum noch vorstellbar, dass meine Verbindung mit zu Hause während der ganzen 4-monatigen Reise nur durch Briefe und in dringenden Fällen durch Telegramme bestand. Letztere waren in Pakistan und Indien nur mit langen Warezeiten an einem Postamt aufzugeben. An Clarita schickte ich 75 randvoll getippte Schreibmaschinen-Seiten und doppelt so viele an die Firma. Es gab noch kein Diktiergerät und kein Fax. Die Wartezeiten auf Briefe waren entsprechend lang. Aber der Intensität der Verbundenheit tat es keinen Abbruch. Die Freude war entsprechend groß, als ich Anfang März wieder in Hamburg eintraf.

Das Hamburger Abendblatt schrieb am 12.03.1951: „Von dem Flüchtlingselend, das in Karachi herrscht, nachdem bei der Teilung Britisch Indiens wechselseitig Millionen von Hindus und Mohammedaner ausgetrieben wurden, von Bombay, wo man sich im schönsten Hotel nicht satt essen kann, von dem zerstörten Rangun, das noch heute durch die Aufständischen von seinem Hinterland abgeschnitten ist, von Bangkok, wo es noch eine große Zahl von Deutschen gibt, von der Ordnung und dem Reichtum in Singapur und von manchem anderen berichtete höchst anschaulich Dr. H. Kruse, der als jüngstes Mitglied des Ostasiatischen Vereins erst vor wenigen Tagen von einer Reise durch Südasien zurückgekehrt war“. Vor dem Krieg war eine derartige Rede beim traditionellen Liebesmahl üblich. Nach dem Krieg blieb es einmalig, weil sich der Reiseverkehr schnell vervielfachte.

 

 

330 Seiten mit zahlreichen Abbildungen,
gebunden im Schutzumschlag
ISBN: 3-434-52618-8